Today I went in to pay for Charl’s next week at the rehab center.

When I walked in, I was greeted with hugs and smiles.  Not just from Charl, but from the house mom and several other girls.  I am amazed at how they have grown to know Brit and I.  It seems that they are genuinely happy to see me.  I guess you could say that Charl’s new community has embraced us because we are important to her.

No matter where you go – whether the ghetto or the suburbs, the crack house or the church, rehab or small groups, one thing remains – people strive for community.

What we have as followers of christ is the ability to enter into the community of the lost or hurting and introduce them to a community that heals.  If there is anything that I have learned in this it is that I cannot do it alone.  We have to build a community around us that will push us to the living Christ.

I am so grateful for my community of friends.  Thank you for challenging me always.

