Today I was sitting with an amazing group of friends.

One in particular is a man that always has my admiration.  He is stronger than me in every way.

He was a Master Sergeant and a 20 year veteran of the United States Army. For over 15 years he served as a “Green Beret” with the 5th Special Forces Group (Airborne) throughout the Middle East and Africa .

He has seen combat during the Gulf War, Somalia , Haiti , Afghanistan , and two tours in Iraq . His service awards and decorations number over 60 including, three Bronze Stars for valor or service, the Purple Heart, the Combat Infantry Badge (2nd Award), Static Line and Military Freefall Jump Master Badges, and numerous other United States and Foreign Decorations.

He now travels the country speaking about how God miraculously saved him when he almost died in an explosion.  He is confident, honest, and sure of God’s love.

I was surprised to listen to him tell of how tired he was.  He said that lately he had been feeling himself getting frustrated quicker and that he was feeling worn down.  He went to a counselor and she told him that he was carrying too much.  He thought she was talking about how he was fixing up a house and working too many hours.  But she corrected him.

She said that he carries too much of others burdens without having anyone pour into him.  He realized that he has been pouring out all of himself and no one is building up strength in him.

I realized how true this is.  I had never thought of giving to him or that he needed me in any way.  I had always assumed that he was stronger than me so he didn’t need anything from me.

I came home and thought of people in my life that I take for granted.  People who I watch give and give and give and never ask for anything in return.  I thought of people who I have always assumed could handle it because they look as though they are stronger than anyone else.

I sent out a little gift in the mail for one of them thanking them for what they are doing.  Then I prayed for them.  I want to make an effort to pour into people who don’t look like they need it.  I don’t know if it will help or even if they need it, but I hope so.

