I know that it is shameful, but today I did laundry for the first time in a very long time.

As I was shoving the hangers closer together to lodge one more shirt in between, I realized that I have way to many clothes.  I thought that this should be my give today.  I should give away some clothes.  But I have tried this before.

I go through and pull out the ones I’ll never wear.  The shirts with the stretched out bottom or the pants that are just a tad too short.  But I keep the ones that I “will need later”.

Since I know my own greedy heart, I decided to make a structured plan and stick to it.  I added up all my shirts and pants, divided them in half, and that is the number to give away.  I had 38 shirts.  Why do I need 38 shirts?  19 gone.  I had only 6 pants, so 3 gone.

I was stressed out.  I did not want to give away those last few shirts.  But for some reason I feel lighter now.

I took the shirts over to the men’s house of the rehab place Xena is staying.  I could not believe how excited they were to get them.  I have had them in my closet collecting dust all this time.  I guess I aways figured that no one would really want my clothes.

I think the real issue here is that I have not been around need.  In the past I would have taken them to a local thrift store, which is not a bad thing, it just shows that I did not know anyone in need.

If I do not know anyone right now who needs anything it is not because no one is in need, it is because I hang out only with people just like me.

